Home HealthTopics Health Centers Reference Library Research
Join us on Facebook Join us on Facebook Share on Facebook
Search NetWellness

Skin Cancer

Stages of Skin Cancer on the Eyelid

The following stages are used for nonmelanoma skin cancer on the eyelid:

Stage 0 (Carcinoma in Situ)

In stage 0abnormal cells are found in the epidermis (topmost layer of the skin). These abnormal cells may become cancer and spread into nearby normal tissue. Stage 0 is also called carcinoma in situ.

Stage I

Stage I is divided into stages IA, IB, and IC.

Stage II

In stage II, one of the following is true:

  • The tumor is larger than 20 millimeters.
  • The tumor has spread to nearby parts of the eye or eye socket.
  • The tumor has spread to spaces around the nerves in the eyelid.

Stage III

Stage III is divided into stages IIIA, IIIB, and IIIC.

Stage IV

The tumor has spread to distant parts of the body.

For more information:

Go to the Skin Cancer health topic, where you can:

Last Reviewed: Mar 26, 2015