Home HealthTopics Health Centers Reference Library Research
Join us on Facebook Join us on Facebook Share on Facebook

Alzheimer's Disease

Stages of Alzheimer`s disease



What are the 3 stages of Alzheimer`s disease?


Hello, and thank you for submitting your question.

Many people think of the disease in three phases: mild, moderate and severe. The divisions in the groups are approximate and can overlap. The appearance and progression of symptoms vary from one person to the next.

Mild symptoms generally include: confusion and memory loss, disorientation (getting lost in familiar surroundings), problems with routine tasks and changes in personality and judgement.

Moderate symptoms generally include: difficulties with activities of daily living (such as feeding and bathing), anxiety, suspiciousness, agitation, sleep disturbances, wandering, pacing and difficulty recognizing family and friends.

Severe symptoms include: loss of speech, loss of appetite (weight loss), loss of bladder and bowel control, and total dependence on the caregiver.

We hope this has been of help to you. If you have any further questions don`t hesitate to contact us again.

Related Resources:

Memory and Cognition Center

For more information:

Go to the Alzheimer's Disease health topic, where you can:

Response by:

Paula K Ogrocki, PhD Paula K Ogrocki, PhD
Assistant Professor of Neurology
School of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University