Home HealthTopics Health Centers Reference Library Research
Join us on Facebook Join us on Facebook Share on Facebook

Complementary Medicine

About Glucosamine



Exactly where is glucosamine derived from? Is it sourced from anywhere that would not be considered kosher (ie., shell fish...)?


This question has been forwarded by Diet and Nutrition:

Since glucosamine can be made from the shells of shrimp, crab, and other shellfish, people with shellfish allergy or iodine hypersensitivity may have an allergic reaction to glucosamine products. A serious hypersensitivity reaction including throat swelling has been reported with glucosamine sulfate.

For more information:

Go to the Complementary Medicine health topic, where you can:

Response by:

Glen F Aukerman, MD, DABFP Glen F Aukerman, MD, DABFP
Professor of Family Medicine
College of Medicine
The Ohio State University